dividing pontoons into 4 per side, is this a terrible idea?

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by dachs, Mar 29, 2014.

1. dachs

dachs Junior Member

hey, guys. i've been reading through many multihull designs here, and all over the internet, and i want to build a portable plywood pontoon boat with 6-8 (36x12x12) pontoon sections that will arranged 3-4 per side inline with spacing somewhere between 3-12 inches between each pontoon. the pontoons will be rectangular, but with rounded corners, and only slightly rounded bottom. i know it will float, but i don't know how it will move considering the pontoon shape and the gaps between them.

i'm new to boats and building them, but i like making stuff, and the challenge of this project. i know you guys are the people to ask, you've been very helpful in me getting as far as i have in my design.

Last edited: Mar 31, 2014
  2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Having spaces between the segments is a no-no. If you do it that way the boat will have unreasonable drag, make a lot of turbulent waves and it may splash or spray a lot.

You can build in segments, presumably for ease of storage. If segments, then they should be carefully matched at the connections and have no space between the connections.

3. dachs

dachs Junior Member

thanks, that's what i thought. the current design is more of a raft or floating dock, i guess. my ultimate goal, which may not be doable, is to make a roughly 12 x 7 modular platform boat that i can break down into about 40-50 cubic ft of space, the back of a hatchback or small wagon with seats folded down. the deck will break down to 6-8 interlocking panels or folding pairs of interlocking panels. i want each pontoon to be hollow, with a locking watertight top, so i can stack them inside each other.

would making the front (and possibly back) of each pontoon V shaped improve hydrodynamics much at all?