Dive/Fish jon boat?

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by spearaddict, Feb 21, 2010.

1. spearaddict

spearaddict New Member

Hey, I am going to start building a wooden boat in the next few weeks and was wondering as to what would be better suited for diving and fishing- flat bottom or Vee? i know the Vee is better for choppy water and its a bit more stable, but I am here in Tampa Bay and the depth is usually between .5-3 feet deep, but there are channels that are around 35 ft. deep and get very choppy. I am also a college student, so I am going to be doing this on a very tight budget using probably plywood from home depot, what type of paint could i put on it that might help the plywood hold up and also maybe protect a bit during beaching. thanks in advance

2. lewisboats

lewisboats Obsessed Member

Here is what I would go with... Level floating it would draft 4" at about 410 lbs all up. The other pic is about what it would look like at full plane. You would need around 10 hp for it to do that.
    11.5 ft long
    51" beam (43.5" at the waterline)
    sides are 13.5" high from chine, 11.5" from waterline (so you can get over the side from the water), depth overall...15.35"

As you can see...there is a transom bow for more buoyancy forward, with a deep forefoot to split the chop but shallowing to a very mild vee aft for little draft. This could be had out of 1/4" ply for the bottom (to accommodate the forefoot bend) with a doubling layer laminated on the inside aft of the fiercest part of the warp to provide stiffness for planning without oil canning and for rigidity when walking on. You would want to put a buoyancy compartment in the bow, under a mid seat but mostly at the back to support the motor and skipper. About 9 cu.ft. would be sufficient. Sides would be 1/4" or even 3/8" if you don't care too much about weight and want some toughness.

Steve

Attached Files:

3. spearaddict

spearaddict New Member