Kayak Trimaran Concept Help...

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ermaclob, Sep 24, 2013.

1. ermaclob

ermaclob Junior Member

WU! first post :)

So for some time know ive been having the idea of turning my kayak into a trimaran for limited ocean use. im harboring the idea the doing this will add significant amounts of stability as well as increased weight capacity. Only real problem is i have no real experiences with boat design and am wondering if my expectations are unreasonable.

so a here is a little more info on what i have in mind.

I have a Ocean Kayak Prowler 13. which looks like this
    [​IMG]

which is a pretty nifty kayak. it holds ~ 450 lbs of weight and is know to be fairly usable in the ocean granted its not a that bad of a day out. i find my self not using the kayak because im not a big fan of hanging around streams, mangrove areas/ flats etc. i know alot of people do go out into the a fair way out into the sea ~ 3-6 miles on kayaks, but a flimsy kayak in a sudden weather change in not a very appealing idea for me especially that far out. so i wanna turn that sucker into a trimaran.

there is actually a commercially available kayak with this idea in mind tho its over price like crazy IMO.

[​IMG]

its nice and defiantly sea worthy getting somewhere around 12 -15 knots with that sail. its a 18 footer with like 600 lbs of weight capacity.

i wanted to make something similar to this with my 13 footer. it doesnt seem that hard to do. i was planing on just using some aluminum pipe similar to this.
    [​IMG]