Displacement problem maxsurf stability

Discussion in 'Stability' started by Endarkwolf, Dec 22, 2016.

  1. Endarkwolf
    Joined: Dec 2016
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Depok, Indonesia

    Endarkwolf Junior Member

    Hello everyone I need some help. My project is making a model ship with maxsurf, and I encountered some problem. Whenever I start analyzing my ship it display zero displacement and other data. Here is the result..

    http://imgur.com/a/Qen9a

    My ship main dimension is L=80cm, b=24cm, d=15cm, t=7.2cm (it's a model ship)

    I don't know where i'm wrong, please help..

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,736
    Likes: 184, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    Have you checked if the origin of coordinates and axes are well located?
     
  3. Endarkwolf
    Joined: Dec 2016
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Depok, Indonesia

    Endarkwolf Junior Member

    I believe for coordinates I do right, but I don't know about axes. How do you check it? Forgive me if this sound stupid but this is only my 2nd time using maxsurf, and first for maxsurf stability.

    Thank you again.
     
  4. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,736
    Likes: 184, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    In attached picture you can see the origin of coordinates ("zero point") and axes.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Endarkwolf
    Joined: Dec 2016
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Depok, Indonesia

    Endarkwolf Junior Member

    Oh that's axes. I don't think there's a problem then. I have suspicion that it's my control point but i don't know.

    And there is this, the one in my pic earlier is the result of upright analysis - draft. And when I try upright analysis - displacement with initial displacement and final displacement even 0.1 kg, its display this:

    http://imgur.com/a/egjQJ

    Do you know what's wrong?

    Thank you again.
     
  6. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 5,736
    Likes: 184, Points: 73, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

  7. Endarkwolf
    Joined: Dec 2016
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Depok, Indonesia

    Endarkwolf Junior Member

    Okay, but I kind of embarrassed since it is my own creation, so it ignores some rules. It's semi-trimaran flat hull ship.

    The purpose of semi trimaran in my opinion is to act as with same function with Prof. Schneekluth WED. The purpose of me making this is to prove whether its true or not.

    Thank you again.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. jonathan
    Joined: Feb 2003
    Posts: 93
    Likes: 0, Points: 16, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: France

    jonathan Junior Member

    Hi, I took a look at your model and the waterline length is 0.8m and waterline beam is 0.225m. Is that right ?
     
  9. Endarkwolf
    Joined: Dec 2016
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Depok, Indonesia

    Endarkwolf Junior Member

    Well yes but the beam supposed to be 0.24.

    Is it going to cause a problem?

    Thank you..
     
  10. jonathan
    Joined: Feb 2003
    Posts: 93
    Likes: 0, Points: 16, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: France

    jonathan Junior Member

    Otherwise it seems to give correct results for the upright hydrostatics... BTW I'm using an old version of hydromax, not maxsurf. Anyway, it doesn't seem to be a problem with your model file as such.
     
  11. jonathan
    Joined: Feb 2003
    Posts: 93
    Likes: 0, Points: 16, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: France

    jonathan Junior Member

    I don't know, that's probably an issue with your design. All I can say is maybe you should scale your model up, you'll get more accurate results that way
     
  12. Endarkwolf
    Joined: Dec 2016
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Depok, Indonesia

    Endarkwolf Junior Member

    Scale it? Like changing it's size? Well I guess I'll do that as last resort then. I choose this size since its the most affordable for me as I'm planning to make a real physical model.
     
  13. Endarkwolf
    Joined: Dec 2016
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Depok, Indonesia

    Endarkwolf Junior Member

    Thank you again..
     
  14. Endarkwolf
    Joined: Dec 2016
    Posts: 13
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Depok, Indonesia

    Endarkwolf Junior Member

    Problem solved. It's really is my design. I've remake it and it works. Thank you again..
     

  15. Rabah
    Joined: Mar 2014
    Posts: 247
    Likes: 7, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 50
    Location: Bulgaria

    Rabah Senior Member

    Hi Endarkwolf,
    I was repair you model. Now it is OK!
    __________________________
    NA Razmik Baharyan
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.