Building a laminated wooden Mast

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by Dominique, Aug 24, 2003.

1. Dominique

Dominique New Member

I have a 49 ft ferro-cement yacht which is not finished. It is supposed to be ketch rigged, but the mizzen is not fitted. The main is 13" taller than the mizzen should be, so I am intending to move it to the mizzen position (chain plate & compression post are allready there) and build a wooden mast for the main. A friend owns a vacant block of land 75 metres from the universitie's jetty which I will be able to use, to step my mast as I am a staff member there. I was a carpenter for ten years before studying computer science, so that and cost are the two main resons I am wanting to build a wooden mast. I also have access to all teh tools required to build a mast. The mast will need to be 19 metres long, but I do not know what section it should be, and I also want a hollow inside the mast for the wiring. I want to run external halyards.

Does anyone know how I should calculate the section required, rigging sizes etc.

Thanks in advance

Dominique.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Square masts are easier to build. They are also easier to rig because of the flat sections. I'll check Herreshoff's formulas unless you got access to them.

3. tspeer

tspeer Senior Member

There was an article in Wooden Boat a year or two ago on building birds-mouth masts. It looked like a really slick way to go if you want a round section.

4. Dominique

Dominique New Member

I do not have Herreshoff's formulas so please check them for me.

Thank you

Dominique.

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

I'll let you know in a day or two.

6. Andy

Andy Senior Member