From Mono to Tri

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Marvout, Aug 24, 2010.

1. Marvout

Marvout Junior Member

I have no Tri experience at all and only probably only a couple of hours on a Hobbie 14. So I have some questions:

When you are at anchor, how do you keep the boat from flopping from one ama to the other? Doesn't it drive you nuts that your boat is never level when at rest? What is it really like at harbor in a boat that either lists to one side or flops back and forth?

The ama on most boats seems to be a hollow sealed space. How do you keep that dry and free from rot? (presuming plywood) I don't see enough access hatches to really open them up and let air through.

Tri's are about speed and there is a lot of discussion of which boat is faster, but in the real world how much difference is there really? If I were to build either a Scarab 22 or a Buccaneer 24 out of ply, load them the same and the boats were sailed by me, how much real speed difference would there be between two boats like this.

Lots of other wonderings, but I'll spend more time in the archives and read more of the past posts.

Marvin

2. ThomD

ThomD Senior Member

"When you are at anchor, how do you keep the boat from flopping from one ama to the other? Doesn't it drive you nuts that your boat is never level when at rest?"

Compared to what? Monohulls in a swell can develop far more anoying motions. No question that cats have a better chance of being stable. If you are buying the boat to cruise many do prefer cats for just that reason + They can be like bungalos, no stairs to climb to get around on deck while sailing + large flat deck + more carrying capacity. A lot depends on how big tri, and what type. Larger tris, with more immersed floats can be pretty level. More racy tris with floats that will barely kiss the water when the boat is sailed level in light air, will have the most flop at anchor. Wider beam will reduce angle kissing floats flop to.