40 ft fibreglass boat build

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by gages, Sep 3, 2021.

1. gages

gages Junior Member

To my surprise I have the opportunity to take ownership of a 40 ft mono hull fibreglass mould to make my own yacht .
    It’s a well known design from NZ and the business went flop here in Australia, the owner has to be out of his property and needs to offload the moulds in a hurry , his loss my gain I suppose

I have over 20 years fibreglass experience but never actually built a yacht this big !! Always kayaks in my business and repairs etc .

maybe some of you can help me answer these questions I have about the process

1. can this be done outside under suitable cover as at 40plus feet I don’t have a shed big enough but I do have the outdoor space

2. Will I be saving $$$ by doing this all by my self over buying and refitting another boat ?

3. I’ll be hand laying this up , can it be done in smaller sections rather than huge big areas at once ?

4. Any one point me in the direction of a blog or any information where I can read watch a build process ?

5.am I mad to take on such a project??? , any advice , always been a dream to sail oceans and the chance to build my own over a few years with all new parts seems like a good idea but I would love to hear some advice from you more experienced people ?

thanks

2. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

Laying up a 40’ hull by hand is a real challenge! Sure, it can be done, but I would advise a resin gun at least, and a well trained crew.
    All material must be pre cut, labeled, and stacked in order of use.
    Think I’d gelcoat and skin one day, and layup the next, best if layup is continuous.
    What type of resin and fabrics will you use?

3. gages

gages Junior Member

I’m the sole worker for n this project.

I’m going to be using vinyl ester resin and I’d like to incorporate Kevlar in the build process