Need help for a 75cm model boat.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Eristoff, Mar 21, 2006.

1. Eristoff

Eristoff New Member

Hello, I am a French student at the Southampton 'solent' University in 1st year of Yacht and Powercraft Design and I need help to do my construction plan.

The rules for this monohull yacht are:

(L+(SA)^(1/2))/2=70

With L=(LOA+2*LWL)/3
    LOA is the extrem length of the hull in cm
    LWL (in cm)

SA= Sail Area= (I*J)/2 or (P*E)/2
    I=Height of the foretriangle (cm)
    J=Foretriangle base (cm)
    P=Mainsail luff (cm)
    E=Mainsail foot (cm)

The volume of displacement shall not be less than L^3/200 (cm^3)
    The maximum draft shall be 35cm
    The maximum length shall be 1.3m
    Prismatic coeficient (CP) 0.54<CP>0.57
    LCB 53%<LCB<56%

I am using MaxSurf and AutoCAD, but I have a probleme with the shape of my hull which is very hideous.
    I am aware that my hull must be very thin and my boat light as possible.

I am also looking for some tips about the materials I have to use, like Glass Fiber or Wood,

At the end of the year there is a race (upwind and downwind) opposing all the students and with friend of mine, we will lived in the same house next year so we decide to award the biggest room at the winner.
    I want this room.

To send me some advices please email me to: tom_dob@hotmail.com

If I won the race I promise a send a bottle of good french wine at the person who help me.
    Sorry I know that my english is not really good.

Edit: Sorry....

2. bhnautika

bhnautika Senior Member