Develop plates in Freeship

Discussion in 'Software' started by Newhill, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. jarmo.hakkinen
    Joined: Jun 2007
    Posts: 66
    Likes: 3, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 25
    Location: Kerkonkoski

    jarmo.hakkinen Junior Member

  2. Tangoau
    Joined: Jun 2014
    Posts: 11
    Likes: 0, Points: 1, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Melbourne Australia

    Tangoau Junior Member

    Freeship to Polycad

    Thanks for the replies.
    I don't have Rhino (yet) and Autocad proved problematic as (correct me if I am wrong) I needed to convert the wireframe to a solid. I could not get it to generate a section through the mesh, and the "convtosolid"command would not function due to too many leaks!

    In the end Marcus Bole from Polycad came through with some very useful help to solve my problems to generate using Polycad.

    So this is how it was done.

    1. Export the Freeship model as a DXF 3D Mesh
    2. In Polycad import as an "Autocad DXF"
    3. Select each mesh, you can create Polygons by using Right Click -> Mesh -> Generate Polygon Mesh.
    4. Once you have generated a Polygon representation for each mesh they can be combined together by Right Click -> Multiple Selection -> Combine Polygon Groups.
    5. Name the combined entity so that you can select it directly when defining the bulkhead (Hull-Polygons)
    6. Open the "Subdivisions and Compartments (Beta)" menu and generate you bulkheads by defining the positions
    7. For each bulkhead then define the "limits" as being "within" the "Hull-Polygons"
    8. Each bulkhead can then be exported as a DXF for further detailing in another program (Autocad)

    After writing it all down it does look like it could be easier using Rhino - but as with most things there are many ways to complete a task.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,626
    Likes: 446, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    As always, there are several methods to achieve the same result, and the best is the one that makes you feel more comfortable.
    Working wit AutoCAD the procedure would be:
    1. create a region with the various lines forming the cross section. Should form an enclosure, and simply connected.
    2. make an extrusion of the region (1 mm, for example). That will make it a solid.
     
  4. aleutka29
    Joined: Aug 2008
    Posts: 23
    Likes: 0, Points: 0, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: Maine

    aleutka29 Junior Member

    MultiSurf using developable surfaces and MS-DEV for the patterns is a tried and true method.
     
  5. mrjo
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 25
    Likes: 1, Points: 3, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: australia

    mrjo Junior Member

    So does Freeship export a useable cutting file?

    Hi
    the original poster seemed to finish with Delftship, but that has no export facility as far as I can tell so how was it done?

    I want to be able to develop hull drawings for my proa design and end up with cutting list for hull panels and bulkheads etc. Can it be done with Freeship plus or will I need to spend $$$$$$$.

    Unfortunately I am a novice to marine software and it is very difficult to get a clear answer even after hours of trolling on which is the best way to go

    All concise on topic help greatly appreciated.

    Thanks Jo
     
  6. LP
    Joined: Jul 2005
    Posts: 1,414
    Likes: 58, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 584
    Location: 26 36.9 N, 82 07.3 W

    LP Flying Boatman

    The tool bar has a Develop Plates function that give you flat pattern lay-outs. These can be exported in the DXF format and imported into CAD programs. There you can have all of the fun you want. In the layers menu, you have to define a layer as developable before the program will make the flat pattern. You will also what to take all steps possible to make sure the panel is truly developable. Freeship will develop a pattern on about any shape, but it's up to you to give it a shape that will develop properly.
     
  7. mrjo
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 25
    Likes: 1, Points: 3, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: australia

    mrjo Junior Member

    So Freeship will allow export of plate files, good news. When you say "have all of the fun you want" in CAD I am thinking that means filling in the interior and general arrangement?
    I have no CAD software and am looking at Turbo Cad deluxe 21 which is a price I can live with, though it is missing quite a few of the pro version features. Is there something that works best with Freeship or does it not matter that much?

    Any proven combinations that have worked well and with low cost please let me know. Jo
     
  8. LP
    Joined: Jul 2005
    Posts: 1,414
    Likes: 58, Points: 58, Legacy Rep: 584
    Location: 26 36.9 N, 82 07.3 W

    LP Flying Boatman

    Freeship has multiple output options. I've found that the DXF has worked best for me. Others may have different preferences. I am using an ancient version of Turbocad 8 Pro so I am familiar with Turbocad. It has some eccentricities and I don't really do any 3D modeling with it. I have not found any hobby type CAD system with acceptable 3D capabilities. I have a version of ViaCAD that I never really got too far into. I know that it will accept DXF input. I've also got a basic version Alibre that is probably the most capable if the higher level versions are purchased(at a considerably higher price). The real kicker that got me with Alibre was that I missed the fact that it doesn't read DXF files without the purchase of an add-on.

    Rhino is fairly popular and has marine based add-ons, but the price point is more than I can justify for hobbying. So I keep using my dinosaur CAD software. I load the 3D DXF output in and make 2D drawings in 3 space lines and surfaces(meshes actually) that Freeship outputs.

    One of the problems that many hobby systems have (and maybe the pro systems too) is the geometry of the boat hull. Typically when loft the hull, you define the hull shape with section cuts. This works great until you want to define the shape of the bow (and stern with a double ended). The section cuts are aligned athwartship, but the bow section is aligned longitudinally and most of the softwares I've dealt with don't handle this change in alignment very. You end up with all kinds of weird squiggies in bow area. I've been on several of the software users forums and no one has been able to offer any insight into a solution. Some (or many) of the pros here, don't even model their designs so I've taken that as a hint to not be too concerned about it.

    Sorry for the tangent. Hope this is helpful. Manie B uses A newer version of Turbocad. He may be able to offer some additional insight.
     
  9. tdem
    Joined: Oct 2013
    Posts: 130
    Likes: 5, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 41
    Location: NZ

    tdem Senior Member

    A really good (and free) alternative to AutoCAD that I have found is DraftSight. It's developed/maintained by Dassault Systems who also do Catia and SolidWorks.

    It seems to be very compatible, with the same commands etc as AutoCAD. Apparently it also has some hidden 3D capabilities.

    http://www.3ds.com/products-services/draftsight/overview/
     
  10. TANSL
    Joined: Sep 2011
    Posts: 6,626
    Likes: 446, Points: 93, Legacy Rep: 300
    Location: Spain

    TANSL Senior Member

    LP, have you tried to work with water lines instead of cross sections ?. In ships with bulbous bow very good results are achieved.
     
  11. mrjo
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 25
    Likes: 1, Points: 3, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: australia

    mrjo Junior Member

    Thanks for the replies and Draftsight looks good, cheers tdem,LP.

    But!
    I have stopped before I have started as the Freeship version I downloaded doesn't appear to have any help tutorial so I have no idea where to start. I got version 3.43 from Softpedia. Is there a link to manual somewhere?

    When I open the zip files under manual it says will need to load manual here and has dodgy web address that goes to some Russian? blog with pictures of a hot chick and other crazy stuff. I guess it is free for a reason.

    With the program open if help is clicked tells you files needed not here.

    Just about ready to start cutting some fine timber battens and sharpen my pencils!!

    Jo
     
  12. tdem
    Joined: Oct 2013
    Posts: 130
    Likes: 5, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 41
    Location: NZ

    tdem Senior Member

    The last "Official" version of Freeship was version 2.6 or there-abouts, which the manual is available for if you search online.

    Have a look wherever the program installed (C:\Program Files\FreeShip or something) and see if there is a manuals directory with a manual in there. There is in my version (although the menu link does not work).

    Unfortunately FreeShip is definitely a program where some of the finer details of using it are not available in the manual.
     
  13. tdem
    Joined: Oct 2013
    Posts: 130
    Likes: 5, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 41
    Location: NZ

    tdem Senior Member

  14. mrjo
    Joined: Jan 2009
    Posts: 25
    Likes: 1, Points: 3, Legacy Rep: 10
    Location: australia

    mrjo Junior Member

    Hi tdem, thanks I will look at that link, nothing in my manuals directory, do you think It would be better to download the 2.6 version? And a quick query re the 4 screens with plan profile etc, if I full screen them, then minimise they seem to disappear, how do you retrieve?

    Jo
     

  15. tdem
    Joined: Oct 2013
    Posts: 130
    Likes: 5, Points: 18, Legacy Rep: 41
    Location: NZ

    tdem Senior Member

    Under the "window" menu you can select the relevant one that has gone missing, it will pop up fullscreen again, then you "un-maximise" rather than minimise. (The two squares) and it will be back in place. From the same menu you can bring up extra windows if you want as well. On any window, inside it you can right-click, then select "view - > whatever" to get another "whatever" window.

    Another couple of hints that can make things easier:
    - If the 3D/perspective view is shown as wireframe, you can actually select points on the control net. If you show it as a shaded view, you cannot.
    - Down the bottom of the program window, there is the "incr. distance". If you click on this, you can change the increment distance. When you select a point, the box with coordinates pops up. When you select a coordinate, you can used the arrow keys, or the little arrow buttons, to move the control point by the increment distance.
    - Setting a small increment distance and then using the arrow keys is often easier than using the mouse, for small movements. Especially on a small screen or when trying to move in only one dimention.
     
Loading...
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.