Designer's Copyright

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by JCaprani, May 27, 2011.

1. JCaprani

JCaprani Junior Member

Hi everyone,

I'm looking into copyright from the point of view of yacht designers and have a couple of questions, hope someone can help.

How does copyright and intellectual property law apply to yacht designers who sell plans to professional and home builders? Is there protection for designers royalties on a successful design?

How long does it take before a design passes into the public domain?

For a designer with a long career still working late in life, has anyone made public or open-sourced their older work to generate publicitiy and renew interest in their latest offerings? Has this been a successful move?

Thanks,

John

2. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

First a disclaimer, I'm not a lawyer.

Second, another disclaimer. My discussion below is about the legal aspects of this question. What is "right" or "moral" can be a different discussion.

I've looked into this and the best that I can tell is from a legal standpoint there are major differences between what is commonly believed abut rights to boat designs and what is supported by applicable law. Also, I've studied primarially US law. While the basics of copyright and patent law are generally similar for most nations there are differences, particularly for "design".

Here is my summary of what I found about US law:

Utility Patent, 20 years. Must be applied for and granted. Most boat designs and elements of boat designs don’t qualify for a utility patent because they don’t meet the required conditions. Validity of a patent is only established through litigation. After 20 years the contents of a utility patent are public domain.