Building my first boat.

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ihallenius, Jul 28, 2005.

1. ihallenius

ihallenius New Member

Hi everybody,

This is my first post of hopefully what will be many to come. As is the tradition of boat building forums, I come forward with a humble request. I wish to build a small powerboat of aluminum. It must be impeller driven, preferably with a small block V8 powerplant, wet stack exhaust. I've been talking around with some people that know about boats (mainly my father), but nobody that I know really can tell me much about actually designing and building my boat. My father is a machinist/millwright by trade, so he is pretty good with AutoCAD.

However, my problem is this: I have not the slightest clue about where to get started. I would like to pick up some reading on the manual, but the libraries around here only carry books on how to "Carve your own canoe" and "Piece together a kayak." I'm not looking to make anything beautifully handcrafted and wooden here (although I do take pride in all my work). I was planning on welding an aluminum hull that had a relatively shallow draft and then go from there.

So, to get to the point: Can anybody recommend a good book for me to pick up and read? I need to learn basic Hull Design (unless somebody already has a good hull plan they would be willing to part with!) as well as any other crucial parts of design. I can handle the wiring no problem (have restored several old cars and custom built a wiring harness for them) and the welding will be provided for by my father who was 30+ years of experience (TIG, MIG/MAG, arc, Heli-Arc, pretty much anything.)

If any of you kind folk can provide a newbie with some advice on where to get started, it would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

--ihallenius

2. waveless

waveless Junior Member

ihallenius,