Ancient Roman boatbuilding terminology

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Brent Annable, Oct 15, 2018.

1. Brent Annable

Brent Annable Junior Member

Hello all,

I'm new here and don't own a boat. I am a translator currently working on texts for an exhibition, which includes an excavated first-century Roman 'pram' (the flat-bottomed ship type, not the dinghy type). it's often described as a 'Roman river barge', which, as far as I can figure out, is not entirely accurate. It's a flat-bottomed river-going vessel with a shallow draught (50cm), about 5m wide and 25m long, with a single mast near the front. The salvaged wreck is called 'De Meern 1', and there are some pictures of the reconstructed ship here:

Category:Shipwreck De Meern 1 - Wikimedia Commons https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Shipwreck_De_Meern_1

Anyhow, I've run up against some terminology problems, which I'm hoping someone here can help with. In describing the sides of the boat (the 'bulwarks'? the bits that stick up from the hull anyway), there are some Dutch terms used which I'm having trouble finding English equivalents of. Here they are, and their descriptions in English:

Bodem (bottom? hull?)
    The bodem is made of four boards that are each 60 centimetres wide, called vlakgangen (strakes?).

Boord (bulwarks? sides?)
    The sides or ‘bulwarks’ are made of three parts: the kimstuk (see below), the boordgang (this is basically just the timber planks used to create the side) and the boeisel (I think this is a gunwale or caprail? The bit at the top of the sides).

Kimstuk
    To make sure the ship is watertight, the transition between the hull (bodem) and the bulwark (boord - is this join called the ‘chine’?) is created from a rabbeted tree-trunk, called the kimstuk (i.e. a tree trunk with an L-shaped section cut out of it that is affixed to the chine to reinforce the join).