Help! What is this?!

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by tikitack, Jan 14, 2013.

1. tikitack

tikitack Noob

Help! What is this?! ADDED PICS!

Hi everyone! Very noob here in every way with respects to sailing. I was given this mangled, beat-up sailboat and I instantly felt sorry for the poor thing and fell in love.... I'm hoping to restore it over the winter and I can't find anything on it to identify it. The metal sticker on the front is barely legible for series and model#. It does say Prince Yachts Inc., Sherbrooke, Quebec. I tried looking them up but no good. The only other info I have is that the sail has 404 stiched into it and the bottom of the sail has a logo from the Stella Sailboat Fittings on it.

I have some pics which I'll try and load.

I'm having trouble uploading the pic but will keep trying. In the meantime, a little more info, but not much, the hull is white and the deck is yellow. The mast is one piece and the boat is a sloop. It's 13'3"approx in length. The centerboard is wood and the rudder is white plastic with a wood tiller. The boat is fiberglass.

Any help in identifying my mystery sailboat would be immensely appreciated!

2. tikitack

tikitack Noob

pics

Uploaded some pics

Attached Files:

3. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

Looks like an Albacore.

4. tikitack

tikitack Noob

Thanks Tom! I perused a pile of Google images of Albacores... The inside centre is different and the inside is enclosed.... Unless it's a model that I missed.

5. johneck

johneck Senior Member

The stern doesn't look quite right for an Albacore. The Albacore has a very distinctive bow, so a picture of that area (hull, not deck) would help.

6. johneck

johneck Senior Member

LOA would help as well.

7. philSweet

philSweet Senior Member

I think it's a Lanaverre Kid. French built.

8. tikitack

tikitack Noob