Speed

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by speedfreak, Sep 6, 2009.

1. speedfreak

speedfreak New Member

Hello all, new to the site. I am from eastern Canada and want to break the sailing speed record. I have sponsorship in place to build and challenge the sailing speed record and am looking for designers to get on board. A bit about me- I am a pilot, sailor, and film maker. I have experienced boat builders lined up, the capital to get it done, and a production company to shoot a documentary on the whole project. Anyone that gets on board will get full credit plus subsidiaries as they come in from the documentary. This will be a fully funded project as it develops. If you are interested in getting involved send me an email at gary@zedtechmedia.com

Cheers

2. Paul Kotzebue

Paul Kotzebue Previous Member

3. speedfreak

speedfreak New Member

4. Tiny Turnip

Tiny Turnip Senior Member

always thought that the monofoil
    http://www.monofoil.com/boat/index.php was one of the more interesting designs out there, but a complex one which always raises issues of robustness to me. and they've been quiet for quite a while...

5. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

6. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

----------------------------------
    Have you decided on the type of approach-do you have a preliminary design?
    Be careful about what you say is faster than Hydroptere-51.38 knots in a 25 knot wind is mighty impressive. I would think the right kind of foiler would be a candidate......
    If you haven't already you should contact Steve Clark, a member here and Dr. Sam Bradfield(if interested e-mail him from this website: http://sites.google.com/site/hydrosail/HydroSail-Home ). You might try contacting Greg Ketterman from this site-he is a member here as well or e-mail me and I'll forward your contact info to him.
    I'd be interested in helping to develop an approach...

7. Guest625101138

8. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

9. Doug Lord