Design for windsurf hydrofoil wing

Discussion in 'Projects & Proposals' started by Jean Baptiste, Jun 24, 2020.

1. Jean Baptiste

Jean Baptiste Junior Member

Hello guys, I'm looking for help

Next year we are going to have the southamerican windsurf championship in our country and the main event is foiling. We have racing equipment, but we want to introduce more people into the sport, so the idea is to make a wing that turns the racing equipment into a very slow and easy one.

I want to build a cheap, easy building front wing for windsurf foil. Something around 1800/2000 cm2. The challenge is made it on plywood and glass, so, should be flat, but has to be super stable, and allow to fly at very low speeds and use very small sails.

I was thinking in an elliptical wing design, straight, with a wingspan around 900 mm, thickness around 20 mm and a flat-bottomed profile like the S7055(10%). The idea is to put a plywood board into a CNC and then glass it.

I'm an engineer, but not this kind, so, I tried downloading XFLR5, tried to learn as much as I could to realize I know nothing on this and is way beyond my possibilities.

the racing equipment I want to adapt is this one:
    2019 Race https://starboardfoils.com/pages/2019-race

and hopefully make it work like this one:
    2019 SuperCruiser https://starboardfoils.com/pages/2019-supercruiser-2

Any help is appreciated, opinions, suggestions, anything

Best regards.

Dejay likes this.
  2. Maarten88

Maarten88 Junior Member