design for lengthening of vessel

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by akrish, Jul 29, 2014.

1. akrish

akrish naval architect

Dear all
    I am doing R&D work on design for lengthening of vessel, so i have decided to start it with a tugboat. Below are dimensions.
    LOA-33.01m
    LBP-31.22m
    B-9.4m
    D-2.4m
    Can i get some suggestions or help in this, like how to start and any rules required for this.? It will be really helpful to me.

Thanks and regards
    Anantha krishnan
    ananthakrishnanbena@gmail.com

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Can you give more details of what it means lengthening of vessel?. Cut it for the center section and add a cylindrical body of, lets say, 34.56 m in length?
    Forgive my curiosity. Are you really naval architect?. Do not answer if you do not want to.

3. akrish

akrish naval architect

Lengthening of vessel means increasing its length. And for your curiosity i am a naval architect.
    I think you don't know anything about naval architect. As you said, cut a section and add cylindrical body. How is that possible??
    If you don't know anything about it, better your search in the internet and then post a reply.

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Thanks for your kind considerations concerning me. When you realize that you were wrong, I hope, if you're generous enough, to apologize to me. But I do not see probable. It does not matter.
    The best way, practice and more usual, to lengthen a boat, is the one I have described.
    I think you're naval architect because you claim you so, but, really, your questions make me wonder. I am sorry.

1 person likes this.
  5. rcnesneg

rcnesneg Senior Member

I have seen someone lengthen a 40ish foot catamaran by cutting the middle, pulling it apart 5 feet, and building fiberglass in the middle. That turned out ok.

6. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member