Trimaran Center Hull Designs & Materials

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Samhill, Apr 10, 2013.

1. Samhill

Samhill Junior Member

What are the thoughts on using skin on frame construction for a Trimaran Center Hull?
    It is generally less expensive, quicker to build, and considerably lighter.
    But would it be too light?

Say for example I wanted to build a scaled down Maxi Tri using Supercat 17 hulls and a skin on frame center hull.

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

==============
    I wouldn't try to scale down from a "maxi"-at least as far as the hydrostatics go. Do the design(or have it done) for the length, load and level of excitement you're looking for. Scaling from very large high performance boats doesn't gain you anything and you may lose the advantages of a proper design. You can probably capture the "essence" of the appearance of the bigger boat without negative effects. Good Luck!
    PS- I have no experience with skin on frame construction so I can't help you there.

3. El_Guero

El_Guero Previous Member

Skin on frame compared to other building methods would easily be compared using WW2 examples.

The Zero (skin over frame) was fast, but came apart easily.

The Mosquito (plywood) was significantly stronger, but still suffered in engaging stronger aircraft.

The p47 (Jug, steel) and others like it, took a beating.

Plywood can be built up to about the same strength as using a metal hull. Skin on frame would be difficult to obtain the same strengths with.

And unless you are set up for skin over frame, I am not sure that would be faster. Several aircraft kit manufacturers seemed to move away from skin on frame, because they did not have a great success rate at being finished. IMHO.

I would say go with marine ply, and go stitch and glue.

4. Skyak

Skyak Senior Member