a little help with X-BOW ULSTEIN

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Iago Rodriguez, Mar 27, 2011.

1. Iago Rodriguez

Iago Rodriguez Junior Member

hi there, i am a naval architect involved on design and fabrication of Seismic vessels, and i am looking for some X-bow vessels drawings. i have a lot of pictures and 3D views, but nothing like cad drawings or body plans,, so,, COULD SOMEBODY HELP ME TO GET ANY x-bOW DRAWINGS?
    i will be very happy just with a link... some jpg.....etc,

of corse, a auto cad drawing will be very apreciatted.

thanks in advance.

P.D.
    if i get some drawings, i promise i will post pictures and and 3d models of the analisis that i will carry on between normal bulbous ship and X-Bow ship
    :)

2. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

3. Iago Rodriguez

First of all, thank you very much for your collaboration, it is very apreciated.

i was looking for other kind of forms, something like the picture below

[​IMG]

it is the famous Ulstein design X-bow.

but, right now, with this new idea you bring me, i have more options :D, i will study this AXE shape ships to try to adapt mine.

thank you again TAD

4. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

Ha........apparently I know not the difference between Axe and X.......:D

Best.....

5. Iago Rodriguez

thanks anyway.

but... Nobody heard about this ships before ??

for sure i know there is a lot of people with pictures and drawings, com'n boys, help me a little :(.

thank you

6. Ad Hoc

Ad Hoc Naval Architect

7. cthippo

cthippo Senior Member

So basically a tumblehome bow? What's the advantage?

8. Perm Stress

Perm Stress Senior Member

Longer waterline (a bit less Fn=> less resistance for same speed), sharper entry (less bow wave=> less resistance for same speed, less slowing down effect from wave impacts on the bow), slower increase in volume from WL up (much less pitching in heavy sea).