from drawing to dxf

Discussion in 'Software' started by jonnyb, Nov 4, 2007.

1. jonnyb

jonnyb Junior Member

hi there.
    Im a novice with CAD, (I use Qcad) and wonder if there exist any program which can make splines from a drawing. This drawing is a 1905 Hull-drawing of a very late model of Colin Archer. (one of his last ones) I started to do the splines by hand but found out that it was not very accurate.
    any clue?

Attached Files:

2. Guest625101138

Guest625101138 Previous Member

Jonny
    I am not going to go into the legality/morality of copying a design. That is for you to work out.

If you are interested in boats you can get a free download of DelftShip that is nice to use for drawing hull surfaces.

You start a new model and set the longitudal points to the number of splines; I think it is 19 or 20. Set the number of points in the vertical direction to say 8. This should enable close conformance to the drawing. You then set the size of hull you want, length, beam and draft. Click on OK.

Once you get to this you will have a starter hull that looks a bit different to drawing.

Expand the bodyplan view to full screen, right click in the window and you will get an option to load a background image. Jusy load the image of the hull. You might have to scale the image of the hull drawing to get it to roughly align with the starting hull - it does not need to be exact because you can move the whole lot later. Also the image has to be jpg or bmp format not png.

Once they are similar size you just pull the sstarter model splines to the same shape as the drawing. You should also set each spline equidistant, as the starter hull will have the points on each spline slightly offset longitudinally. THe left and right mouse buttons are very useful for moving the image around and zooming in or out. It will be tedius but just a bit of patience.