2.5hp Catamaran - power delivery issue

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by NoviceJoe, Jul 16, 2020.

1. NoviceJoe

NoviceJoe Junior Member

Hi, I'm new to boatbuilding and this site. I recently had the idea of trying to make a boat that planes with a 2.5hp engine. It appears that even with only one person on board this is quite a challenge.
    So the design brief is to make something car roof topable, weighting less that 30kg, costing less than £300, and importantly going at least 10mph (hoping for 12-13mph).

I decided to purchase an older style longboard windsurfer. I sawed it in half and built a temporary wooden deck to separate the two hulls by about 60cm. It is 3.3m long and has enough buoyancy. It is stable and weights less that 30kgs. The problem that I have is that is performs well up to a point but as the revs increase the engine just produces a 'confused' wash and there is very limited forward propulsion. I got it up to 8.8mph but it wasn't pretty. At first I clearly had the engine too high and was experiencing cavitation so I lowered the engine by 4" (as seen in the photo) which I thought would solve the problem. It did seem to stop the cavitation issue but not the confused wash.

It is difficult to see exactly what is happing because I am unable to position myself far enough back without making things worse. Incidentally I sit sideways on it with feet resting on portside hull. Ideas I've had are as follows but I'm really at a loss;

1) engine still too high (but transom height is less than 30cm from water and anti-cavitation plate is below hulls)
    2) engine trim not correct (it is only tilting forward 10-15 degrees)
    3) inside edge of each hull (which still has the recess for the centreboard) generating erratic wash in front of the engine.
    4) Hulls too close together and as above disturbing water flow