Analytical propeller theory

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Guest, Nov 10, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

I am a phd student at Queen's University Belfast and my research topic is, "Mixing of a stratified flow due to the passage of a vessel." I shall explain it briefly:
    It involves research on the River Lagan that flows through Belfast. The river has a barrage across the mouth to maintain a constant head of water upstream. It is tidal and the saltwater that flows in over the barrage forms what is known as a stratified flow where the denser saline water subducts underneath the lighter fresh water which flows slowly over the saline water. This stratification leads to all sorts of problems, with the main one being that the oxygen transfer to the high oxygen demanding sediments on the bed is limited across the stratification layer which is very pronounced.
    Attempts have been made to use a curtain of bubbles to mix up the stratification at certain points with the hope of adding vital oxygen into the oxygen depleted areas. This however has not been successful and other methods are being researched. My topic is looking at the relative mixing of the stratification achieved by the propeller on a simple taxi boat that operates on a charter basis on the river. It is roughly 30ft in length. As well as carrying out laboratory and field tests, I aim to gain a better understnading of the theory of propellers.