NOT Boat related by need fiberglass expertise (pool)

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by dollerprod2, Jul 17, 2015.

1. dollerprod2

dollerprod2 New Member

Hi, I'm lost about the current state of my pool and what I can do about it. I know this is a boating forum, please forgive me and would really appreciate any insight you can offer. You guys have expertise with these methods/materials.

I bought a home last winter and have to be honest made a lot of 1st time homebuyer mistakes, I'm paying for it now.

OK, onto it..

I have what I believe to be a concrete/gunite pool that was resurfaced with a fiberglass shell (Don't know why that method instead of replaster) THIS IS WHERE I HAVE ZERO KNOWLEDGE OF PRODUCTS, PROCESS, ETC WHATEVER I AM LOOKING AT HERE.

Please take a quick look at the pics and tell me if I am on the right track..

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

In this picture, are we looking at the brownish/yellowish areas being
    the actual fiberglass shell? Which is being exposed because the gelcoat is wearing away? Is that what I'm looking on the surface - gelcoat?

[​IMG]

This is the chalkiness how it wipes off on your finger when you rub it.
    [​IMG]

Finally, what are the "roller marks" you can see if you look close at the pool wall? How the gelcoat was applied? Paint?
    [​IMG]

Questions :eek::
    1. Are the bownish/yellowish areas the fiberglass shell, which is right under the gelcoat?
    2. Are those "roller marks" you see in last from the application of the gelcoat over the fiberglass, or is it paint after the fact?
    3. What can I do about the chaulkiness being rubbed off when we are in the pool, walking on the bottom, rubbing the walls etc, it stirs up the pool cloudy and as you can see gets on your fingers and whatnot!! ?