A man and his hydroplane

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by robertknowlden, Aug 30, 2017.

1. robertknowlden

robertknowlden New Member

I recently have come into ownership of an absolutely beautiful '73 Johnson 25hp 2-stroke, and it has completely won me over. I am loving the time I spend restoring it to its former glory, the first few test runs have proven that quality-made items will stand the test of time.
    Recently, I have been looking for an excuse to put this big girl to work, and have settled on the idea of building a hydroplane. I've been researching a bit, and the three designs that seem to surface most often are the Wetback 10, the Minimost and some variation of the Picklefork.
    Bearing in mind I am a 20 year old novice woodworker, are any of these design appropriately simple? If not, could someone please steer me in the direction of a fairly straight-forward design that will still absolutely fly when I put my most prized possession on the back?
    Additionally, I have discovered that all the best designs in this area were drawn up about 40 years ago; is there any merit to the idea that even the though the construction was difficult in the past, modern boat-building techniques might make it considerably easier?

Thank you in advance

2. DSR

DSR Junior Member

Hi Robert, welcome!!

If you haven't visited the Glen-L website, I definitely recommend taking a look. They have several designs that would work for you.