Cutting out the console

Discussion in 'Projects & Proposals' started by tbarn917, Feb 6, 2013.

1. tbarn917

tbarn917 New Member

Hey guys,
    This is my first post. My future father-in-law just gave me an older 14ft procraft with a 70hp Force on it :D . I have taken it out a few time before he gave it to me and being more of a saltwater fisherman I was thinking giving it a slight face lift and making a center console for it. I hadn't seen it in a while and I assumed the console was removable but it turns out is molded with the top half of the boat.

Anyway has anyone ever cut out a fixed console (I figured I could use an angle grinder, sawsall, and/or jigsaw)? I know that it would leave an opening in the sidewall but I was thinking of building a box to slide in rods for storage. I'm pretty skilled in carpentry and I have some glassing experience from repairing surfboards. Let me know what y'all think!

Also, I was trying to find pics of my boat online and I am coming up empty. On the sidewall above the procraft logo it had another brand name that I think was maiden craft 1460 but I can't remember exactly what it was (the boat is out at his house) but I know it started with an "m". I tried to find a correlation between the two names but I didn't find anything so if anyone could help me with that too that would be great. Like I said I grew up in saltwater so I'm new to these boats.

Thanks for your help, here are a few pics I took while I was out there this weekend!

Tyler

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. michigangeorge

michigangeorge Junior Member

Hacking up a fiberglass production boat will do nothing for its value and that boat is really too small for a center console anyway. Use and enjoy it as is and save yourself a lot of work and $$.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

That's a flats style of boat and really doesn't have the freeboard for saltwater use, unless very close to shore in calm conditions. She could be overwhelmed by a freighter's wake easily.