Custom38Footer

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Hpetro1111, Jan 19, 2014.

1. Hpetro1111

Hpetro1111 Junior Member

Hi all
    this is my first attempt on a full desing
    At the moment the hull probably sucks but its just a general idea
    any feedback would be great
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

the goal would be to have a fast racing boat with some crusing comforts and be ocean going

2. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Best to keep the rudders under the boat.

For a cruiser i like the helmsman forward of the main traveller

The hull deck joint needs some detailing to reduce windage and make sitting on the rail more comfy

[​IMG]

3. philSweet

philSweet Senior Member

Welcome, Hpertro1111

You've presented a sketch, but not too much in the way of a design. Can you post the proposed vessel's particulars? Basic specs and a paragraph on who would be sailing it, and where, would be good. Any info on the build methods, materials and technology available to the builder would be good.

The hardware layout suggests a big crew or a boat intended for training since it forces many people to be on deck for a maneuver.

If you are more interested in comments on the hull shape or styling or ergonomics, we still need to know weights, areas, crew, and rating systems for racing.

4. Hpetro1111

Hpetro1111 Junior Member

Here are some more info
    LOA-11.50m
    Beam- 4.50m

those are not realy changable.

draft around 2.5 meter depending on any further stability calculations i do
    Rating ruls are not important to me . The boat should be fun to sail and be fast in relativly light winds ase the primary are would be the mediterranean but the boat should be able to sail offshore ( transatlantik ) so it has to be A category.

Yes the boat would be fully crew-ed for racing but the ergonomic should work for doublehanded and solo crusing
    im not intersted in extremly signlehanded boat like class 40 as that desing is a no-go for cruising for me