Custom jet

Discussion in 'Jet Drives' started by Fhemm, Aug 1, 2013.

1. Fhemm

Fhemm New Member

I am working a a project that would include a custom jet drive system. I know how a jet drive works, I just need a few details to bring it all together.

I i plan to use a 1250gpm pump fired off by a 250hp diesel. Would that be big enough to sufficiently move a ~2000lb boat down the water. And about what nozzle size would I need? I was the thinking 3.5" to 4". Pretty much all aspects of the drive system will be custom fabricated.

Any help is appreciated. thanks

Fred

2. JSL

JSL Senior Member

Buy a jet, there are many good ones around.

3. Fhemm

Fhemm New Member

:/ that wasn't the answer I was looking for. I know its not going to be the easiest job I've done. I'm a welder/fabricator and mechanic, I don't have a problem building what needs to be built. I'm just looking for some guidelines to go by as far as displacement/power to weight requirements.

4. RivrLivn

RivrLivn Junior Member

Can be done, but you will probably not even get close to the performance of a produced jet.

However, I have seen some custom builds for smaller craft. They used the shaft, impeller, stator and nozzle from a PWC. All they did was custom build the intake.

I would suggest studying the specification of some of the water jet manufacturers like Hamilton. Here is a link to the brochure for the HJ212 (a very popular jet for planning boats) I think it lists the nozzle at 4.3"
    http://hamiltonjet.com/links/HJ212Brochure.pdf

5. baeckmo

baeckmo Hydrodynamics

Hmm, you mean water in here and out there? It's a bit more complicated than that. This idea of using an existing pump is popping up regularly here, but it does not work. Let's leave your unrealistic weight estimate uncommented right now and focus on the pumping issues. You may gain some insight by reading the thread "Axial vs mixed flow pumps."