Building hull in cross sections

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by SmallSpaceBigImagination, Mar 22, 2021.

1. SmallSpaceBigImagination

SmallSpaceBigImagination Junior Member

I know the 1st rule of deciding to build... make sure you have the space.

I don't. But what I was thinking is build multihull cross sections and store with multiple relatives/storage companies until time to assemble.

Is this possible. Haven't decided on a plan but my primary build space would limit the beam to 17 feet, if I go this route...

Prefer a multihull, likely motor because I'm new to boating. Plan to sail parts of the great loop - being in Ontario Canada. Ultimately looking for a sail to Florida at least a few times so costal is a must.

Thanks in advance

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Do you mean the molds to build the hull over or sections of boat that you plan on joining together later?

3. SmallSpaceBigImagination

Sections of the boat that I'll have to join together later.
    I have a total build space of 7ft X 19ft, but need some room to walk around and being a bigger guy...
    I think I have to ensure the molds start and end on a section. Maybe even duplicating the same mold section # at the start end end of each section to ensure the match up.

Thoughts?

Also thinking I'll have to find a way to make a flange on both sides to facilitate the join.

4. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

5. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

That is not a good plan. It would be difficult for a professional to fabricate sections that will fit to each other. Also, the structure will have to be carefully engineered. Amateurs take 10 years or more to build a boat. Most abandon the projects. You need to ask yourself if the plan is to have a hobby building a boat or to go travelling on a boat. If the latter is the goal, then a used boat will be faster, cheaper and simpler.

bajansailor likes this.
  6. trip the light fandango

trip the light fandango Senior Member