New to boat design (watermaker for a small 60'-ish ocean cruiser)

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Mik the stick, Dec 14, 2012.

1. Mik the stick

Mik the stick Senior Member

I'm new to boat design it will never be more than a hypothetical dream like hobby. However that does not mean I am not serious about learning how its done. I have an idea that a diesel electric boat might be very efficient dependent on many factors like availability of motors etc.
    Can anyone tell me for a small (60' ish) ocean cruiser would such a boat have an evaporator to produce fresh water to supliment a small on board tank, or would a large tank have to be fitted.

2. groper

groper Senior Member

They are called reverse osmosis water makers.... you can make virtually unlimited fresh water from the sea water....

3. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Making fresh water is always complex. The preferred solution is a large tank and carry the required capacity. If you cant carry enough , then watermakers can be used. Ive not seen evaporator desalinators on small craft , only reverse osmosis. The typical RO unit would be AC powered , takes up nearly as much space additional tankage and is very expensive.

The secret to great design is simplicity. The more mechanical systems you use...diesel electric for instance, the bigger the challenge to keep them online during use.

4. sean9c

sean9c Senior Member

$5k gets you a high quality 500 gal/day RO watermaker, weighs 80# and it's footprint is about 6 sq/ft. $9k gets you 1000gal/day at 100# and the same footprint.
    If weight and space are a consideration RO watermakers make a lot of sense, also frees you up from worrying about questionable water sources.

5. Mik the stick

Mik the stick Senior Member

Thank you for your replies gentlemen.