Critique my design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by RagnarTheDane, Dec 20, 2016.

1. RagnarTheDane

RagnarTheDane Swabbie's Boot Shiner

Hello all.
    I'm brand new to boat building (been reading and learning.)
    But I'm not at wood working.

I went and looked at the boat I want, and it's 26,000.
    Now, I'm usually of the mindset of "not if I can build it"
    So for months I've been reading, looking, lurking, and planning.

Here's what I want to accomplish:
    I want a boat that I can fish off of, cruise around the lake with the family, and hunt/duck hunt out of.

The Lowe 18/60 Big River comes close to what I want, but not with a Mud Motor. So, here's what I'm considering, and please tell me what you think

I want to build an 18x60 Flat Bottom Design boat out of plywood and fiber glass, built tougher than an aluminum boat, and made to last as I don't care to buy another boat.

I am considering 1/2 Marine Ply for the bottom and 3/8 marine Ply for the sides and topside (deck, box, console, etc). And then coating the entire thing in fiberglass.

I've gotten through the paper drawings, and have made a 1:14 scale model. (Pics below). But want to know if there are any glaring mistakes in either my design, thought process, etc.

Here's the photos and the Materials list, Thanks for your time and advice!:

[​IMG]
    The paper man is my size scaled to 1:14 - Complete with muffin tops :)

[​IMG]
    The Gun boxes will be padded on top, but removable mounted to a cleat/rail for more on deck storage capacity.

[​IMG]
    The Transom will be Double stacked to 1", and I'm contemplating utilizing Sponsons... thoughts?

[​IMG]
    I like the open storage, but am also contemplating a drop in live well that can double as a cooler? and supports for a swivel fishing seat and cutout in the bow for a trolling motor hookup, just haven't decided.

[​IMG]
    Right now, the bow has the traditional flat drop. I am considering doing a modified V... Thoughts?