Creekmore 45 keel project

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by boethius27, May 18, 2011.

1. boethius27

boethius27 New Member

Hello everyone. I've been trolling along in these forums for a couple years and it is one of the most informative boat related sites on the net. Thank you all for the time you put into answering all the questions on here. I finally have a question I need some more specific help with, so here goes.

My wife and I have lived aboard our Ericson 35 for 3 years now and we just recently had our first baby. We plan to continue living aboard, however we are moving up to something larger and more family friendly. We have had the good fortune (in our opinion) of inheriting a Creekmore 45 in an unfinished condition. Somebody purchased it as a bare hull in 1980. They spent 10 years putting on a deck with a low pilot/charthouse and doing almost all of the interior woodwork. In 1990 they lost interest and moved on to other projects. It sat covered until last fall when we took over. It just needs the systems installed and it is a virtually new boat. He kept very good care of it, even in the years he wasn't working on it.

One of the more unfortunate things left to be done is the installation of the lead ballast. Due to the deck and floor stringers it cannot be forged at a foundry and lowered it. It will have to be stacked in ingots and sealed together with molten (or epoxy) as carefully as possible. Debate on methods of doing this seems endless, but that is not my question. My question is in regards to quantity and distribution. The owner had very few specs or drawings left over. Not sure what happened to all his paperwork.

Here is a basic drawing (the only one I have): http://www.flickr.com/photos/jennyhalteman/5015511825/sizes/l/in/set-72157624883718577/

Here is a small gallery with some photos of the keel inside and out: http://boethius27.imgur.com/creekmore disregard the meager collection of ingots laying in the bottom ;)