Help on upper deck

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by francois100, Oct 21, 2010.

1. francois100

francois100 Junior Member

Hi my name is Francois and a rookie as well. Please dont crap on my head I am not a boat designer just enjou working with my hands. Can some of the experienced builders have a look at my pdf and give me some comments. Almost based on pontoon design. I worked it out and each hull can take 3000kg. The boat is 20'. Outboard 15-50 hp just for cruising down the river. Hoping it may take 15 people. My mane worry is the upper deck and how to make it sturdy. Is currently supported from the beam inside the hull and will be one structure with the boat. Any ideas on making the top deck strong enough. thanks

Attached Files:

1 person likes this.
  2. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

You need to specify some sizes and materials planned.
    The most obvious improvement is to modify the design to increase structural strength. Curve and laminate the upper corners for increase rigidity, spread the superstructure weight over two stringers

The other trouble area is that you have the stringers sunk below the upper deck level, so the supports have to go through the deck for joining. Either bring the stringers to the deck level, or add 'filler' blocks to achieve deck level supports. This means you can bolt directly to something solid without creating 'thru hull' problems.

Just a few starting items.

eg

Attached Files:

3. francois100

Thanks

Thanks for the reply. Now that you showed me this it seems quite obvious. Was thinking of using 12mm ply and then fiber glass. I was hesitant to use a bolt on system and though by making hull and deck one piece would be stronger. My hull design will it work. It is 31" at bottom and 35" at top. Inside the hull I have 7 ribs. The boat is 9 foot by 20 foot long. Should I make the 2 hulls sepaprate and then put it together or can i build the 2 hulls and centre between hulls as one piece. Thanks