Raising the gunnel

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by fealeranger, Dec 14, 2013.

1. fealeranger

fealeranger Junior Member

Repair and raising the gunnel

Hi everybody,
    I'm new to the forum but am very interested in boats and their construction. I hope to attempt to make my own Dory style boat over the next few years but for now I have a few things I would like other opinion on. I got this Dory/Gandelow style boat that has a few dents and scrapes for fixing. I am going to attempt to do them myself but I am new to glass and gel coat so I want to see if you guys think it is a good idea to try myself or get a more experienced guy aboard to do this. Some pictures here to give you an idea what I'm facing. This is the boat
    http://i943.photobucket.com/albums/ad275/rmck79/Fishing/IMG_2032.jpg
    This is the damage I need to repair.
    http://i943.photobucket.com/albums/ad275/rmck79/IMG_3724.jpg
    http://i943.photobucket.com/albums/ad275/rmck79/IMG_3722.jpg
    http://i943.photobucket.com/albums/ad275/rmck79/IMG_3721.jpg
    I am trying to figure out if I will need to glass these or will I just need to repair the gel coat. I am also hoping somebody can attempt to guess what colour this boat is:confused:? Eventually i will need to raise the gunnels by 6-8cm as the oars are too low and want to know is this a big job? Any coments are welcome and helpful. Cheers.

Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  2. fealeranger

Anybody?

3. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

Welcome

That looks to be just gelcoat repair that's needed. Do it yourself so then when other dings happen, you know how to fix them.

It's hard to tell the color... some shade of grey? Take some white gel and mix in a little dark grey or a tiny bit of black. Mix it to match what you have, it won't change color as it hardens.