Coral Sea 35 Restoration

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by BenZA, Jan 10, 2015.

1. BenZA

BenZA New Member

This is a thread to post my progress and thoughts on the boat I am going to restore. This is my first project of this size although it is something I have been hoping to do for a very long time.

The boat is a Mike Waller design Coral Sea 35 Catamaran in plywood construction built by a builder that has since passed away. When I found this boat it had been neglected for a long time with lots of damage to the plywood. The boat has never been completed and has never floated. Inspection shows good workmanship to the hulls although the turret and transoms are practically destroyed. The boat comes with most construction bits but no fittings.

After discussions with the designer I now hold a valid license to construct this boat with the full plans and instructions. My plan is to strip this boat down in damages areas, repair all rot with new plywood construction and then finish with epoxy resin and marine paint. The result of this work will determine viable configurations in the following phases.

Last edited: Sep 5, 2015
  2. BenZA

BenZA New Member

Fetching the boat

I have to go fetch my boat. You can actually see it from the air on Google Earth on -34.042064, 22.049476 in Mossel Bay , South Africa. I need to move it to Pretoria, South Africa some 1,800 kilometres away via my planned route. I am worried but I have been working on this for some time.

I have been making preparations by refurbishing a trailer to move the boat, buying heavy duty high-lift jacks to put the boat on the trailer and building a driveway on my residence to place the boat while I work on it. Obviously I don't have a workshop large enough to work on the boat indoors but the winter is starting in April which will put the rains on hold for a few months.