Diesel Heat Exchanger Conversion to Radiator

Discussion in 'Diesel Engines' started by Christopher McTurnan, Jun 20, 2018.

1. Christopher McTurnan

Christopher McTurnan New Member

This is probably a very worn out topic but this is what I got. So I have an older Columbia 9.6 monohull that runs a Volvo MD6B 10 horse in it. Long story short, 10500 lb boat unladen and 10 hp isn't a good match when you take into consideration wind, current and tides on a bad day. My motors transmission went screwy this past weekend and had to get towed 4 hours to my marina. Older Volvo engines have quite a bit of parts that aren't made anymore and if they are you have to spend an arm or a leg to get them. Marinized engines are overrated.

I am a diesel mechanic by trade, been doing it for 20 years, and have a design idea. Dry stack tractor diesel, 3-4 cylinder equaling between 20-40 hp, installed on my boat. I have read a ton of forums and literature and it just seems the nay-sayers are just those die hard marinized diesel fans with the money to drop in a new Beta or Volvo. When I read articles and forum posts on how radiators need a constant flow of air for cooling efficiency, go look at older earth moving equipment. Those beasts don't move fast and still maintain a cool operating system. Answer.......alternative air flow sourcing.

My transom is hollow with a large compartment for access to a couple wires. By measure, I can fit a 3 core aluminum radiator with 12 volt fan system in there. Vent the access cover and utilize the discharge ports already already sitting on the top of the transom.

Venting the engine compartment would be a bit more tricky but doable via vents built into the underside of the stairs and then exhaust plenums and ducting running out of the transom or other area aft of the cockpit not frequented.

The whole exhaust system will be double wrapped and ported using a "wood stove" type of setup so as not to damage the hull.

Cost plus materials:

Labor-Free