Pontoon design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by pontoonfreak, Jun 14, 2007.

1. pontoonfreak

pontoonfreak New Member

Hey all,

I am design student and i am designing a boat for my studio project, i am a graduate student in ID and i wanna ask you people on this forum a few questions, this is my first boat design project and i am not too familiar about boats.

i was looking at pontoons and i noticed its made mostly from aluminium, is there a particualar reason for that , why is plastic not used or fibreglass as in most hulls and also i found out that pontoons are more used in shallow waters and does it have anything to do with the buoyancy that the pontoons are made of aluminium

also what is a difference between a catamaran and pontoon boat.....is the catamaran an ocean going vessel while the pontoon is restricted to shallow waters....

You gotta forgive me for my poor knowledge in boats, thats why i am here for ...to get more and from people who have tons of experience...

thanks

pontoon freak

2. messabout

messabout Senior Member

Pontoons are aluminum, almost always round (cylindrical) because that is an easy way to form them. In short this is a quick way to build a "pontoon boat" but far, far from the most efficient hullform.

Ordinary pontoon boats are not seaworthy. They work well enough in calmer water but will be suicidal at sea. No aluminum does not add to bouyancy any more than fiberglass or wood construction. The aluminum pontoons that you see are simply a cheap and dirty way to build.

The catamaran is simply a boat with two floats that are parallel at some distance from one another. The pontoon boat could, technically, be called a catamaran. Cat sailors would choke at such a description. Cats are usually well designed and engineered, unlike the barge like pontoon.