BMW M21 Diesel Marine Engine Conversion?

Discussion in 'DIY Marinizing' started by Northwester, Oct 27, 2010.

1. Northwester

Northwester Junior Member

I'm wondering if anyone makes a marinizing kit for the BMW M21 524TD engine.

M21 2.4l inline six diesel engine based on m20 gasoline engine.

The turbocharged version made 114 bhp at 4800 r.p.m. The piston domes are oil cooled and the crankshaft is forged. Seems well enough engineered for marine use.

2. WestVanHan

WestVanHan Not a Senior Member

I'd say no..as it is 26 years old...I was an auto broker and have seen but a few of these.
    I guess you know that was in the 524 td and some Lincolns...that 114 hp is peak and for very occasional use.

I'm guessing it'd be best to run at 40-50 hp to last,which you want it to do as they didn't sell many of them and parts are pricey and rare...and specialty tools (only at BMW dealer) required for any significant work.

Many of them had the timing belt break and grenade the engine....or the transmissions would blow and they would be scrapped

You obviously have the engine and want to use it for cheap,but if you're looking for cheap car based diesel try a VW TDI or Mercedes 300 turbo.

3. Northwester

I appreciate that 114 bhp @ 4800 would be for peak use only and that a continuous output of 50 bhp @ 3000 or so would better insure (but not guarantee) longevity. Frequent changes of the camshaft timing belt would have to be part of the regular maintenance program. I imagine the engine is quite commonly in europe.

My 25' planing hull vessel currently has 2 x 165 hp inline 6 gas engines that I would like to replace with 2 x inline 6 diesel engines. I'm guessing that 100 - 125 total hp would be needed to maintain the 5000 lb. vessel on plane at 15- 20 knots.