Aluminum 25' skiff

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by regal, Jun 16, 2004.

1. regal

regal Junior Member

I am new to boatbuilding but am investigating this due to the complete lack of quality boats offered commercially. I live on the east coast where aluminum boat builders are very rare, and used aluminum hulls unheard of.

I need a 25ftx 8ft skiff type hull with a 5ft bow depth, closed 10 to 14* transom, and pleanty of freeboard. Looking to keep it lightweight with 1/" transom, 3/16" sides/bottom 5025 construction.

I am considering taking a design and finding a cutter then doing the welding myself.

One question I have is say a typical design for a 25ft boat, would there be pieces that weigh more than say 150 lbs? What would you do in the situation? How do you handle the big pieces for the bottom and sides if they are too heavy to pick up?

2. Thunderhead19

Thunderhead19 Senior Member

You will have to handle (in all probability) some pieces that are over 150 lbs. In our shop we use three guys and a winch attached to the cieling. And it's not so much the lifting, but he holding of things in place at just the right angle while it gets tacked in place that is the pain in the neck.

3. Thunderhead19

Thunderhead19 Senior Member

by the way, it's a no-no around here to lift more than 60lbs without another helper.

4. mmd

mmd Senior Member

I have a design for a boat that fits your description. Several have been built to date using computer-guided plasma-cut panels that were trucked to the builder's shop for fabrication. These are commercial boats used primarily in the local fishing industry. Contact me at the e-mail address in my profile if you are interested.

5. Arrowmarine

Arrowmarine Senior Member