Contemplating an i550

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by jonoreh, Oct 7, 2009.

1. jonoreh

jonoreh New Member

Hi all,

This is my first post so be gentle. I've found myself enamored with the idea of building a sailboat, and like the idea of a fast 18' daysailor. After searching the net and forums, I'm leaning heavily towards the i550. I am a carpenter and also have some experience with epoxy having helped a friend build a couple strip kayaks. Also, living in Colorado should help with price as I believe they are shipping kits out of Durango. My question stems from the fact that I am soon to become a father, and am wondering about modifying the design to be a little more family friendly.
    First I am wondering about adding seatbacks or coamings? to keep the ride a little dryer, and to keep the little one on board in a few years. I'm thinking along the lines of the Vanguard Nomad. How much additional work/headaches am I looking at? Would there be a severe hit to the performance?
    Also wondering about a ballasted centerboard. Seems like it would be a bit easier to lift/drop than the keel. I know performance would suffer with that big gash in the bottom of the boat, but by how much? Is a drop keel of this size easier to handle than I think?
    What do you guys think? I guess I'm kind of going for a homebuilt Nomad. Fast ie. planing hull daysailor that is comfortable, can be crewed by a couple, and maybe raced. (What kind of rating systems/classes are in CO anyways?) Or maybe I am desecrating a great racing boat and there is a better design out there for my needs. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
    Jon

2. Cheesy

Cheesy Senior Member

Well as far as lifting the keel goes you wont have a problem with it

3. Munter

Munter Amateur