Young New Member Starting a Big Project

Discussion in 'All Things Boats & Boating' started by AJAX, Oct 12, 2010.

1. AJAX

AJAX New Member

Hey guys, my name is Alex Jackson, 19, Northern Indiana. I am new to this forum, but not new to boating I've grew up on the lake my whole life and know a little bit. I recently purchased a new project boat: 1961 Chris Craft Constellation 30, she has twin 327 Chevy's. I am new to resoration and would like some input or advice on where to start, what to watch out for ect.

Things I have notice that need attention so far:
    • replace the plywood of the top of the cabin, repaint, drain old gas from tanks and lines, new mast, new electronics, radio, sounder, ect

Thanks for your time, and help in advance!

-Alex Jackson-

1 person likes this.
  2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Did you have the boat surveyed by someone knowledgeable on wooden boats? If you haven't, that should be your first step. Otherwise, you may be replacing a deck over a rotted or otherwise damaged hull.

3. AJAX

AJAX New Member

Yes, I actually did. I have a good friend Doug and he also owns a CCC 30 almost identical to mine that he restored himself, and he came and gave it a good looking over. He went over the whole hull with a screw driver looking for rot, we only found three places and they were well above the water line about 2-3" in diameter and not deep. We plan on scaping and fillining these areas with gitrot. Is this legitimit?

4. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Gitrot is one of those products specifically formulated to be marketed to the least educated of buyers. The most educated repair people would never use it. They would instead use more sophisticated and varied methods. If your friend who did the survey suggested Gitrot to do the repairs I would consider getting a second opinion.