Composite floor, expanding foam question

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by cas17013, Nov 1, 2012.

1. cas17013

cas17013 Junior Member

This is my first post, so let me first say thanks to everyone for the awesome information in the forum, and a thanks in advance for any replies I may get to this question.

As a background to what I am trying to do, I have a Mastercraft Tristar 220 that I want to modify to have a self bailing deck. The hull is in good condition, and was originaly built with a 100% composite stringer system with all internal voids filled with flotation foam. The existing floor surface is solid fiberglass with no plywood core. (except access panels) The floor is in great condition, but is too low to add scupper valves for self bailing plus there is a structural crossmember at the transom that dams the water. I want to raise the whole floor about 3" to have positive drainage to the transom, and have the valves safely above the waterline.

My plan is to build a 3" high grid of PVC board on 12" centers fastened with epoxy to the existing floor. Then fill the grids with expandable foam level to the top of the grid boards, and then cap with ALUCOBOND panels as the new flooring surface.

My goal doing it this way is to use no wood as the hull is already all composite. I can buy the PVC board at the local home store. I already have plenty of the Alucobond panels, and have used them in many applications with good results. And I want to fill the voids with foam to increase the bouyancy (or counteract any moisture intrusion in the existing foam), and to provide a little extra support under the Alucobond panel.

So my questions are:

First... Is there any major flaws in this plan, or any alternate ideas?