Submersible Watercraft hull design

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Rob Innes, Oct 15, 2022.

1. Rob Innes

Rob Innes New Member

Hi. I’m new to this forum but I thought I’d see what sort of inputs I got towards my latest project. I’ve been designing and building submersible watercraft for over 20 years and delivered about 170 of them. www.Seabreacher.com. For the last two years I’ve been designing and building a much larger 4 seat prototype. www.Thejetshark.com. This new vessel is powered by a Kodiak marine 6.2l V8 and a Hamilton 212 jet unit. I tried a much different hull design for this larger vessel and I’ve mostly been pretty disappointed with its performance and am looking at doing a major hull redesign to try and rectify these issues. The vessel does not track very well in a straight line and every so often will veer dramatically in one direction for no reason. I tried adding a rear skeg behind the intake which improved stability slightly but slowed steering considerably. I have attached a basic profile pic of the current hull and I will also post pics of the new design I’m currently looking at switching to. Another significant issue is the nose of the vessel goes under relatively well but the tail struggles to follow it under despite several weight and thrust vectoring changes. I believe this issue is mostly due to the center of negative lift (from the main wings) being too far ahead of the center of buoyancy).., as well as an imperfect hull design.