Completely clueless

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Qbonez, Jul 6, 2018.

1. Qbonez

Qbonez Junior Member

I am very new to boating. As in I've never even been on one. I received a free boat and started digging in to it. The floor was rotten so I removed the plywood and the glassing underneath (I'm assuming from factory) is complete rubbish. So I believe the stringers are pretty much toast as well. I have been searching many threads and everyone uses words i don't really understand.
    So I guess I'm looking for an idiots guide type explanation as to what I need to do to get it water ready. I have no idea the brand of boat. Only response I received was "definitely pre HIN boat". For sure the transom has unhealthy cracks on the bottom where it curves to the hull bottom. Sorry if this is all too much but would appreciate help.

2. Qbonez

Qbonez Junior Member

20180702_183244.jpg from top of image the 2nd and 4th stringers have about a 2" square cutout for water drainage that was not glassed

Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  3. JamesG123

JamesG123 Senior Member

You didn't receive a free boat. Someone got you to haul off their trash for free. Sorry.

Last edited: Jul 6, 2018
  4. BlueBell

BlueBell . . . _ _ _ . . . _ _ _

What you have is the same boat as in your other thread "Help Identify".

What do you want to do with it?

It would make a good beer cooler at a party.

Or, a planter, but no veggies.

5. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

It is a bit difficult to tell, but this boat looks like it has a core. In the picture center upper right there appears to be an area where the inside laminate has been cut away.

Core boats such as this are really not repairable.

Core is usually wood.

In Ascii, think

-------
    Wood
    -------

Where the lines are fiberglass and resin and the wood in the middle is rotten. Generally, this is below the WL or all the way in the main hull.