Comparing Resins - fairly

Discussion in 'Materials' started by LMB, Nov 3, 2008.

1. LMB

LMB Junior Member

Self taught in fiberglass work, I enjoy research. I work in practically all types of resins and top coat systems, designing each repair to most appropriately fit the job. Of course, opinions will vary and I'm always open minded enough to listen.

Lately I've been looking at technical data for a few resins. I'm not a chemical engineer but assumed comparing things like tensile elongation, tensile strength, flexural modulus and so -on would give some idea on performance varitions. I think I'm starting to realize that this might not be a fair method, as it's not really an all things being equal comparison. In other words the base controls in each testing situation might vary greatly. Further, I'm questioning generalizatoins like epoxy being far superior to vinylester or even polyester. I would like to back it up with data. So far, comparing one popular vinylester with a well known epoxy showed the vinylester outperforming the epoxy in almost every catagory. Maybe it's not fair comparison, and maybe I don't really understand all the numbers. Anybody that can give some basics on interpreting technical data would be a big help? Also, what effect does reinforcing resins with additives generally have?

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Hi LMB,

You are most certainly right that there is more to those technical data sheets than meets the eye. Those tests can only be compared directly when done to the same test method under the same conditions. For example, if two resins were both tested under ASTM D897-08 for tensile properties of adhesive bonds, you could directly compare the results. But if one quoted a value from a test based on D897 and a different resin had been tested based on ASTM D1144 (strength development of adhesive bonds), you couldn't directly compare the numbers.