Small Kayak - Under 13 feet - Stability?

Discussion in 'Stability' started by millionswords, Dec 16, 2008.

1. millionswords

millionswords HomeMade Kayak?

hi All,

I'm in the process of planning a Small Kayak for backwaters, and canals. I cannot afford to make a 17' Sea Kayak. I never would use this kayak on the sea, so my idea is only to make it as small as possible.

I plan to make it under 10 feet.
    I do not have prior experience in making Kayaks or Boats.
    I'm a first time builder, and I'm planning a SOF Touring Kayak.

Stability is important, do not need agile speed, maneuverability is important.
    Please help me decide the LOA and the Cockpit size, and target displacement.

I weight just under 220 lbs.

thanks,
    MS

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

For your weight, under ten feet will be a challenge if speed is an issue.
    A kayak can be long and slim or short and fat. Your idea of a short kayak (under ten feet) means a rather beamy shape not only because of the length but also because of your weight carrying requirements.
    A nine foot kayak for you might be 36" wide.
    What happens to performance? The boat will be very efficient at low power input but when you treally want to move it will hit "the wall" early and waste your energy making waves.
    If you enjoy paddling along at 2-3 miles per hour, you'll really like the short and wide kayak.
    The shorter hull won't track nearly as well as the longer type. It will be more maneuverable, however, and you can load gear in it more easily due to the better (larger) access at the cockpit opening. The weight of gear will be closer to middle too, which is a plus.
    Now, for stability, initial stability will be very good compared to a longer boat in potential, depending on the bottom shape. All things being equal, however, the wide boat will be initially very stable.