Dive support vessel

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Adhithya, Jun 27, 2014.

1. Adhithya

Adhithya Junior Member

I'm a student of Naval Architecture have been assigned a project to design a dive support vessel, but at present i have no access to any database, so could any one of you possibly having access to a marine database, provide me with the details for about about 20-30 DSVs above 90m length?
    I'd be grateful for any help provided.

Last edited: Jun 28, 2014
  2. rxcomposite

rxcomposite Senior Member

Consult workboats magazines. It is not a specific type of boat but can belong to a tug category retrofitted as Dive Support Vessel. The first thing that has to be fitted is a decompression chamber which can be a unit that is bolted to the deck. Larger vessels have their own gas generating system.

Next would be a davit or crane to lower submersibles. Larger ones have a channel in the middle of the boat like a big deep endless well for lowering a submersibles. More complicated ones have a Dynamic Positioning System (DPS).

3. Yobarnacle

Yobarnacle Senior Member holding true course

I have sailed as captain on dive support vessels, one 220 ft another 230 ft long, others close to 200ft. As Mr RX says above, DP is the current technology, but all DSV, even DP equipped DSV, have 4 point anchor systems. Some have 5 anchors and winches for each.
    you need a number of control rooms with panoramic visibility. The normal bridge for navigation of course. And in addition, an aft bridge for setting stern anchors or mooring to oil platforms or other offshore structures. Both bridges need unobstructed 360 degree views.