Point me in the right direction

Discussion in 'Diesel Engines' started by Kaptin-Jer, Mar 2, 2008.

1. Kaptin-Jer

Kaptin-Jer Semi-Pro

Most of you know me from the other forums. I am sure that my problem has been discussed many times so I just need a guide to past threads.
    I am finally starting to work on my engine. A Perkins 4.108. I am not a mechanic!! Not bad with Awl Grip and varnish, but engines are another world to me. I have 0 money, so I have to learn as I go. The engine was under water 4 years ago. The salvage guys pulled it out of the boat and got it running then placed it back inside. Not installed, just placed, I had to bolt it to the mounts. For the first two years I would put a crow bar on the fly wheel and keep it moving. This last year I wasn't able to do that and it is frozen, hard! I took off the injectors and put as much WD40 as I could get into the cylinder heads. (a full can) now I'm going to wait until next week-end to see if I can break it loose. Any other home remedies or past threads would be helpful, because once I get it moving again I have to Install it. All the elecrtical work, hoses, exauhast has to be done - by me, and right now all the "stuff" laying all over the stern compartment is just that, stuff. Thanks guys.

2. masalai

masalai masalai

Have you got oil in the engine sump and gearbox?

3. Kaptin-Jer

Kaptin-Jer Semi-Pro

There doesn't appear to be. The dip stick was "frozen" and took some persuasion to get out. It was dry.

4. masalai

masalai masalai

Then lift out the engine & gearbox, as you may need to rebuild or replace. I would not trust that engine if you are going cruising...