remove floor on garvey bay boat to remove foam and seal leaks

Discussion in 'Materials' started by gary gee, May 4, 2019.

1. gary gee

gary gee New Member

I bought a garvey bay boat style from a nj boat livery for 200. There is a 12" crack in hull and water is dripping slowly from 2 places on the keel.I cut a 8" square hole near transom to look inside,Looks like great stuff foam in small amounts.The floor seems to be marine plywood covered with fiberglass and is in good condition.Based on the piece I cut out the wood is waterlogged and maybe the foam.I hate to cut out the good floor but it needs to dry and remove old foam.I would leave a 4-6" lip around the edges to reconnect to.Do I replace it with marine plywood and glass it over again? How do I fix the leaking keel and crack?I like the boat style,looks very stable and I have a new 20hp for it.I have no experience with fiberglass but have worked on all kinds of other things. any advice would be helpfull.

2. Blueknarr

Blueknarr Senior Member

Welcome to the forum.

How well do you love that boat?

Read the many threads relating to wet hull, stringer, or transom repairs on this forum. All three problems usually manifest together.

The repairs are not technically difficult. But, they are excessive, both in time and materials. This is not a quick and easy job.

Are you prepared to spend significant time and money?
    Are you prepared to walk away from it?

---------

If you can make a template before cutting your deck, it will be a great aid when putting things back together.

After you have opened up the sole and scooped out the wet foam., check the stringers and transom for water saturation.

Posting pictures will help us provide focused advice.

Good luck

3. gary gee

gary gee New Member