Sources for S-Glass

Discussion in 'Materials' started by Tim Hall, Apr 21, 2011.

1. Tim Hall

Tim Hall Junior Member

Hi all, I have a stripper canoe project I'm sourcing materials for. I can't seem to locate any good sources of s- or s-2 glass. I keep finding 27" or 30" widths for 'surfboard' manufacture, but I don't think that's going to cut it for a single lay up around a canoe hull.

Does anyone know of any good sources for s-glass?

Also I'm fairly new to this. I've tinkered with epoxy and glass before, but don't know much about the details of different products. Can anyone explain what might be some advantages or disadvantages to using different weaves, etc. for my particular project? The books I have talk a lot about woodworking, but seem a little skinny on fiber information.

Thanks,

Tim

2. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

3. Tim Hall

Tim Hall Junior Member

Thanks, I didn't know they sold fiberglass too...I really like their epoxy, and that's mostly what I've used in the past.

BUT their 6oz. s-glass is again only 27" wide. Does anyone work with this for a canoe with a 30" beam? Even a 22" beam kayak is going have a section perimeter longer than this.

4. CatBuilder

CatBuilder Previous Member

Tim, I'm not all that sure about canoes, but on the larger boats, we do "lap joints" and join the strips of fiberglass together, along their edge.

I am building a 45' catamaran with a 6' beam (on each hull) and I'm using 50" glass - not even twice as wide as the glass you are thinking isn't big enough for your canoe.

That's just how the glass comes. It's not all done in one piece.

The above assumes you are glassing by pulling a long piece of the 27" from bow to stern.

Depending on the design, you can also glass from sheer line to sheer line, around the bilge, using many 27" wide pieces to make up the length of the boat.

You would have to check into this with the designer and order glass with the fibers running 90 degrees to their typical orientation.