choosing a boat!!

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Markxx01, Dec 26, 2009.

1. Markxx01

Markxx01 New Member

Hello to start with im going to have to admit I know nothing about boats, however I am an excellent carpenter, a good wielder/metal worker and a fair engineer. So i believe with enough time and research i will be able to build a boat.

I have only started research today but found the huge verity of boats is making it difficult to find the right type of boat for me. I’m looking for a good all rounder boat design as my dream is to travel lots, the boat therefore needs to be sea worthy (most important) easy to use but also capable of river and maybe canal travel. And sails would be nice.

The boat only needs to be big enough for me and my woman to live in (one bed and a hot plate ;))

Any suggestion where to start?

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

As recently posted on a similar thread:
    Welcome aboard!

A decent list of wishes, so to say. That should be doable even if you have three thumbs at each hand!

Go here:

http://www.bateau.com/products.php?cat=18

http://www.selway-fisher.com/Motorcruisers.htm

https://www.boatdesigns.com/departments.asp?dept=2

and narrow down your requirements (and maybe increase the size a bit).

Then let us know which and why and so on.

Take care! Prices and building times are too often estimated on the "low" side (for marketing).

Regards
    Richard

3. Fanie

Fanie Fanie

Research, research, research, research, research, and more research.

Buy a big crate of beers and try to get rides on different boats. The beers are to bribe the owner. Notice conditions and compare later. You will, over time, form an idea of what it is you want, or not, or maybe not at all.

Big decision, going from zero to hero in ten seconds flat. Boat building is a beeeg job. Get a psychiatry evaluation first. If they found you are still sane then you may want to remain like that :D

4. dreamer

dreamer Soñadora