1. The Marketplace Forums can be useful for members who know one another well from forum discussions and offline communications and wish to post boatbuilding tools, drafting tools, molds and tooling, and other professional equipment for sale or trade. However, caution and good judgement should always be used. Especially when considering any business with anyone not already well known to you and trusted, due diligence must be used to confirm details and identity and be sure the transaction is safe before any money or property changes hands. Always use good judgement and perform due dilligence and follow these guidelines.

China build, trawlercat

Discussion in 'Marketplace' started by trawlercatbuild, Jul 1, 2005.

1. trawlercatbuild

trawlercatbuild Junior Member

I am a USCG licensed marine engineer and a USCG licensed Captain. I work as an independent consultant, supervising construction, taking delivery and sailing aboard large yachts. I have worked at boatyards around the world taking delivery of new vessels and representing owners during build, refits and repairs. I have had the memorable experience of working in Mainland China for an American company taking delivery of the first of a new line of Trawler Catamarans built in Mainland China for an American Company

As attractive as it sounds, making money in China is not easy. Last I heard, the four owners of yachts valued at up to over a million dollars each, were simply out of their money, and their yachts. Quality problems prevented the “American” builder from accepting the vessels, (although the American Company oversaw construction in China for many years!) Although the yachts have been 100% paid for by the future owners, and 95% paid for by the “American” builder, these boats still sit in a Chinese yard. Lower level workers, like myself, were not paid. I think the last concern was whether the proper jurisdiction for the case would be Mainland China, the US, Canada, or Hong Kong.